Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Changing to Proportional Representation: New Zealand’s experience

October 13 @ 09:00 am

Free

Pro Europa Brussels invites you to a discussion with Prof Andrew Geddis of Otago University.

There are many parallels between New Zealand's experience prior to the introduction of PR and the situation in the UK today, where the Conservatives and some in the Labour Party are clinging to their vested interest in the present first-past-the-post system. That was also true in NZ, yet the people of that country were able to change to a fairer and more democratic system. How they managed to achieve that and how it has turned out are questions that Professor Geddis will tackle in his talk.

To access the event on 13 October please click on the Zoom link below at 09.00 BST (10.00 CEST, 21.00 NZST).

Details

Date:
October 13
Time:
09:00 am
Cost:
Free
Website:
https://us02web.zoom.us/j/88369641522

Organiser

Pro Europa

Venue

Online
United Kingdom + Google Map

There may be errors in this calendar, the system is not automated and thus we do not always receive the most up to date information. We can not accept any liability for these errors. Please inform us if you have spotted an error so we can fix it to the best of our abilities.